Review: Hidden Strike (2023)

Oh goodness

Look, I’m not a professional reviewer. I don’t know what I can say other than…Jackie…why?

I had heard the tale of a Jackie Chan-John Cena film on the horizon for some time, under the changing titles of SNAFU, Project X-traction, or Project X. When I finally got Netflix a couple of weeks ago, I was taken aback by seeing a Jackie feature with the name Hidden Strike. Was it an alternate title for Bleeding Steel or Vanguard? Turns out, no! It is indeed the JC-JC picture we had been waiting for!

I of course watched it immediately.

And oh boy, did I live-text my partner during it and half pay attention to what was supposed to be happening.

Unnecessary, unneeded, and undesired CGI? Yup! A weak-ass script? You betcha! Seat belt PSAs? Of course!

(I actually enjoyed the last one there, haha – it’s a very Jackie thing to do.)

The fight scenes were pretty good. I liked the last set piece! Bubbles are fun 🙂 I love when Jackie can show off his mastery of physics.

However, I don’t love when Jackie defies physics, like in his manipulation of certain objects in the first fight. Or the tip tap kip up. That was a bit too unrealistic for me to enjoy, sorry.

Also, can we talk about the father-daughter relationship? What was that even about?? She finds you with her diary and all is forgiven for giving her abandonment issues because she “understands now”??? I don’t know, man….

The script as a whole was a big oof. Zero depth.

The bad guy Owen and the professor were decent actors, though. I’ll hand it to them. Were they fighting over a dongle? Yup! Is dongle a too-silly word for this supposedly serious backstory? You betcha.

What else can I say? The movie has three funny lines. And bloopers! That’s important. Otherwise, that’s about all I can say.

I love Jackie Chan. I enjoyed watching this trainwreck of a movie. I will enjoy watching other movies now, lol.


If you want to read a better review, you can do so here: https://cityonfire.com/hidden-strike-jackie-chan-snafu-project-x-traction-ex-baghdad-john-cena-review-2023-2018/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started